skip to primary navigationskip to content

Duncan Bell wins 2017 Kenneth M. Roemer Award

last modified Nov 28, 2017 03:00 PM

Duncan Bell has won the 2017 Kenneth M. Roemer Award for Innovative Course Design from the Society for Utopian Studies, for his 3rd year undergraduate course "The Politics of the Future, 1880-2080"

Mixing political theory, literature, and intellectual history, the course explores how intellectuals have thought about the future from the late nineteenth century and into the present. It uses fictional texts - including those by William Morris, H. G. Wells, W. E. B. Du Bois, George Orwell, Margaret Atwood, Ursula Le Guin, Octavia Butler and William Gibson - to explore the anxieties animating social and political thought, visions of future utopias and dystopias, and theoretical accounts of what it means to think the future.