skip to primary navigationskip to content

Geoffrey Hawthorn Prize 2019

last modified Sep 09, 2019 03:11 PM

We are delighted to announce that this year’s winner of the Geoffrey Hawthorn Prize is Edmund Wilson. The Geoffrey Hawthorn Prize is awarded to the student with the highest average on papers POL1 and POL2. The prize is named after Emeritus Professor and former Head of Department Geoffrey Hawthorn, who sadly passed away in December 2015.

Edmund Wilson had this to say about his success: ‘Receiving the Geoffrey Hawthorn Prize is an honour I never once expected and will never forget. Many thanks to all involved for seeing my essays as deserving of this recognition. Many thanks also to all those who organised and taught the Part I HSPS course which I loved, given both its political breadth and its philosophical depth. I’m particularly grateful for the support from Selwyn College - notably from my POL1 and POL2 supervisors, Benjamin Studebaker and Dr Lauren Wilcox.

Though I have not come across Professor Hawthorn’s writings until now, the prize has prompted me to look them up. They look really interesting and relevant to my own passions, and I will definitely be reading some of them in the coming months. I also look forward eagerly to Part II of HSPS. This prize has given me renewed enthusiasm to study these topics long into the future - and one day, perhaps, to act on them in the political world beyond the academy.’