skip to primary navigationskip to content

Professor John Loughlin, Affiliated Lecturer in POLIS and Director of the Von Hugel Institute and a Fellow of St Edmund's College, has been elected a Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts

last modified Aug 22, 2013 11:50 AM

The European Academy of Sciences and Arts was founded in 1990 by Prof. Felix Unger, Cardinal Franz König and Prof. Nikolaus Lobkowicz. The Academy focuses on interdisciplinary discussion across specialist areas, ideologies and scientific cultures as well as promoting transnational dialogue and visionary developments of new scientific knowledge and academic thinking. As an “independent knowledge pool”, the Academy aims “to debate and work on contemporary topics across disciplinary and national borders, for the good of those living and working in Europe”. The uniqueness of the Academy of Sciences and Arts lies in its ability to work across boundaries for the aesthetics of science. The European Academy of Sciences and Arts now brings together over 1200 scientists and researchers, philosophers and artists from Europe, Asia and the USA, including 25 Nobel Prize winners. This has resulted in a networked ‘think tank’ on ethical and scientific values in a society that is increasingly fragmented. The European Academy of Sciences and Arts, based in Salzburg, focuses on three core areas, namely developing knowledge, disseminating scientific information and implementing major multi-national projects.