## Country list

## **List A Countries**

We would not normally require applicants from the following countries to take an external language test or have an assessment with the Language Centre. However, individual circumstances may lead us to set a condition, and a department may ask that a condition is set if they have particular concerns.

Applicants who are not nationals of these countries, but who have studied there and completed a qualification equivalent to a UK Bachelor's within two years of the start date of their proposed course of study are also exempt from being set a language condition.

- Antigua and Barbuda
- Australia
- Bahamas
- Barbados
- Belize
- Canada
- Cook Islands
- Dominica
- Falkland Islands
- Gibraltar
- Grenada
- Guyana
- British Indian Ocean Territory
- Ireland

- Isle of Man
- Jamaica
- Malta
- New Zealand
- Niue
- · Saint Kitts and Nevis
- Saint Lucia
- · Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
- Scotland
- Tokelau
- Trinidad and Tobago
- United Kingdom
- United States of America
- British Virgin Islands

## **List B Countries**

Applicants from the following countries may be eligible for assessment by the Language Centre, but will otherwise be asked for a language test.

- Botswana
- Ghana
- India
- Kenya
- Martinique
- Mauritius
- Montserrat
- Netherlands
- Nigeria

- Singapore
- South Africa
- South Sudan
- Sri Lanka
- Sudan
- Swaziland
- Uganda
- Zambia
- Zimbabwe