skip to content

Department of Politics and International Studies (POLIS)

RA Butler Prize Winners

The R.A. Butler Prize for essays in politics and international studies is an annual competition open to students in Year 12 or the Lower 6th. Established in memory of the former Master of Trinity College, Lord Butler, who most famously served as Home Secretary and Chancellor of the Exchequer, and who was responsible for the introduction of free secondary education for all students in the UK, this prize is jointly organised by Trinity College Cambridge and Cambridge University’s Department of Politics and International Studies.

The objectives of the R.A. Butler Prize are twofold. Firstly, it aims to encourage students with an interest in modern politics and world affairs to think about undertaking university studies in politics, international studies or a related discipline. It is not limited to those already studying these subjects or indeed other social sciences. Secondly, its intention is to recognise the achievements both of high-calibre students and those who teach them.

We received some fantastic entries, but a few stood out among the rest.

The 2023 winners are:

First prize: John Paul Cheng, Winchester College, Winchester

Second prize: Fela Callahan, Harris Westminster Sixth Form, London

Special commendations were awarded to: Joud Algazlan (Elthorne Park High School, London), Ethan Crane (Poole Grammar School, Dorset), Krish Deshpande (Colchester Royal Grammar School, Essex), Rhianna Gorman (Winstanley College, Wigan), Jinn Ong (Benenden School, Kent), Catherine Patterson (St George’s College, Weybridge, Surrey), Benjamin Woolfe (The Blue School, Wells, Somerset) and Meagan Tam (Cheltenham Ladies' College, Gloucestershire).

We would like to offer our congratulations to the winners and we would like to thank everyone who entered this year's competition. 

Questions for the next round of the competition will be released in March 2024.

Read more