skip to content

Department of Politics and International Studies (POLIS)

The 2024 PhD Fieldwork Photography Competition

The 2024 PhD Fieldwork Photography Competition is now open for entries with cash prizes to be won!!

Every year, POLIS runs a Fieldwork Photography Competition to showcase the best images our PhD students have taken whilst out on their fieldwork. This includes any photos taken during fieldwork throughout the PhD study period. Any indication of new perspectives on intersubjectivity during fieldwork and socio-political constraints from a specific context is of particular interest.

Photographs of your original artwork in any medium, and digital art are welcome; we particularly encourage reflection on the ways in which these might lend new perspectives on methodology, theory, and the study of politics.


Winner: £150 and your picture will be featured on the POLIS webpages

2nd place: £100 and your picture will be featured on the POLIS webpages

3rd place: £50 and your picture will be featured on the POLIS webpages

Your artwork will also be framed and displayed either in the Alison Richard Building or in the Centre relevant to your studies.

To enter the competition, you must:

  • be a POLIS PhD student (including in any of the POLIS Centres)
  • the image or original artwork must have been taken/associated as part of your PhD study
  • agree to the Department’s use of your image on their website and on resources
  • send the highest possible resolution of your shot
  • provide a caption of up to 30 words on where it was taken, what is happening in the shot, what inspired you to take it
  • supply your full name, location of the image and a short image caption explaining the photo.

The closing date for 2024 competition entries is 30 June 2024.  Winners will be announced each September.

Entries should be submitted by email to Hayley Askew

If you have any questions regarding this competition please email Hayley Askew

Past winners:

2023 Competition Winners

2022 Competition Winners.

2021 Competition Winners