skip to primary navigationskip to content

The Self Assessment Team

If you are a current student in the Department, a postdoc or a member staff and are interested in joining the Self Assessment Team, please email

In January 2016 the Department decided to work towards an Athena SWAN Bronze Award. The Self Assessment Team (SAT), who compiled the report and application, came together for their first meeting in February 2016 and have met frequently ever since. For the 2017/18 academic year leadership was taken on by Prof David Runciman, Professor of Politics and HoD, who was joined by a number of senior academics as well as administrators, postdocs and students from across the Department. 

The SAT currently consists of the following members - 


Prof David Runciman

Chair of the SAT and Head of Department


Dr Christopher Brooke

Senior Lecturer, Chair of Examiners for HSPS Tripos

Dr Jude Browne

Reader, Director of UCam Centre for Gender Studies

Ms O Chapman

Student, MPhil in Development Studies

Dr S Diepeveen

Postdoctoral researcher

Dr Duncan Kelly

Reader, Director MPhil in International Relations and Politics

Ms A C Liang

Student, PhD Politics and International Studies

Ms L Lewis

Student, MPhil in Public Policy

Dr Glen Rangwala

Lecturer, Chair PhD in Politics and International Studies Admissions

Dr Julie Smith

Senior Lecturer, Chair Graduate Committee, Director MSt in International Relations, Director European Centre @ POLIS

Ms C Thomas

Graduate Administrator, Wellbeing Coordinator

Prof M Weller


Dr A Zarakol

Reader, Director of Graduate Education


A key target for the SAT going forward is to increase the membership, both in terms of gender representation and representation of the constituent parts of the Department. If you are a current student in the Department (including the Centres), a postdoc or a member staff and are interested in joining the Self Assessment Team, please email .